Welcome! The Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives (AREA) is a member-owned federation of 22 electric distribution cooperatives.

AREA honors Alabama House Speaker McCutcheon

AREA was honored to present Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives Mac McCutcheon with our Bill Nichols Award for his contributions to the rural electrification program in Alabama. AREA Vice President for Public Affairs Sean Strickler was on hand to help present the award to McCutcheon at AREA’s 75th Annual Meeting in Montgomery.

The award, named for former Congressman Bill Nichols, is presented to an individual who “has demonstrated a substantial willingness to go beyond the routine call of duty in furthering the principles and progress of rural electrification.”

McCutcheon, who represents portions of north Alabama not served by our cooperatives, has nevertheless been a champion of all cooperatives statewide and been instrumental in passage of legislation critical to our industry. Thank you, Mr. Speaker!

Alabama Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon, left, receives the Bill Nichols Award from AREA Vice President of public affairs Sean Strickler.