Welcome! The Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives (AREA) is a member-owned federation of 22 electric distribution cooperatives.

New board representatives approved at December meeting

The AREA board approved the 2015 Work Plan and budget at its December meeting, held Dec. 3 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Birmingham. AREA staff members reviewed 2015’s activities and initiatives and looked ahead to 2016.

Also at the meeting, the board approved three new board representatives:

Van Smith, PowerSouth: Smith is a retired administrator at Billingsley High School and is now a full-time farmer. He serves as an Autauga County Commissioner and chairman of deacons at Indian Grove Baptist Church. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Auburn University and a master’s degree from the University at Montevallo. He has earned all cooperative board leadership certifications.
Linda Arnold, Pioneer EC: Arnold was appointed to Pioneer’s board in 2009 and elected for a full term in 2010. Prior to moving to the Selma area, she worked in the medical records and quality assurance fields for Birmingham-area hospitals. She attends Orrville Baptist Church and is an active community volunteer. She has completed training to become a Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned Board Leadership Certification from NRECA.
Tracy Reeder, Wiregrass EC: Reeder and his wife both work for the U.S. Postal Service and live in Slocomb with their children. He’s the fourth generation of his family to be served by Wiregrass EC. Originally elected to the WEC board in 2009, he is an active member of Rehobeth Baptist Church and in youth activities.

Aaron White, the board representative for Southern Pine EC, was formally recognized by the board. He was approved at the September meeting.