Welcome! The Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives (AREA) is a member-owned federation of 22 electric distribution cooperatives.

More than $300,000 in scholarships awarded to Alabama students (July 8, 2021)

More than 200 graduating seniors in areas served by Alabama’s rural electric cooperatives were awarded scholarships by the Electric Cooperative Foundation this month.

The Electric Cooperative Foundation was created by the electric cooperatives of Alabama in 1997 to give back to the communities they serve. The ECF provides scholarships for post-secondary and vocational education to accredited institutions for qualifying high school seniors. The Foundation awards scholarships to dependents of members of the participating electric cooperatives in 21 districts established by the Foundation’s Board of Directors. 

The scholarships are awarded directly to the student’s chosen institution. For 2021, 52 institutions will receive funds. The top schools receiving funds were Auburn University, the University of Alabama, Troy University, the University of South Alabama, the University of Alabama at Birmingham and Lurleen B. Wallace Community College. Scholarships range from $500 to $3,500 per student.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the annual Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Tour in Washington, D.C., was canceled. Typically, Alabama sends more than 50 high school juniors to this summer event, where they meet their elected officials, learn about our nation’s history and how government works, and tour monuments and museums. 

Several Alabama cooperatives decided to award scholarships to students who would have participated in Youth Tour had it not been canceled. 

Alabama’s rural electric cooperatives are committed to helping young people in their communities further their education and attain their career goals.