Welcome! The Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives (AREA) is a member-owned federation of 22 electric distribution cooperatives.

Annual Meeting

On this page you will find information for the AREA 2015 Annual Meeting. 

More than 400 electric cooperative leaders from across Alabama gathered April 22 and 23 in the state’s capital for the 68th Annual Meeting of the Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives.

Delegates elected Randy Brannon of Pea River Electric Cooperative, Ozark, as chairman; David Hembree of Cullman Electric Cooperative, as vice-chairman; and Daryl Jones of Black Warrior Electric Cooperative as secretary-treasurer.

In addition, 31 co-op directors from nine Alabama cooperatives were recognized for completing Advanced Board Leadership Certificates.

The group heard from a number of state officials, including Seth Hammett, interim chief of staff for Gov. Robert Bentley; Dr. Jim McVay, director of health promotion and chronic disease for the Alabama Department of Public Health; Ed Reed, deputy director of the Alabama Securities Commission; Kylle’ McKinney, public affairs specialist with the Social Security Administration; and Ronald Davis, state director of USDA Rural Development in Alabama.

AREA also gave its Pathfinder Award to Ruby Neeley of Chilton County, longtime director at Central Alabama Electric Cooperative and PowerSouth Electric Cooperative, for her commitment to the rural electrification program in Alabama.

Senator Greg Reed of Jasper was named State Senator of the Year and Rep. April Weaver of Brierfield was named State Representative of the Year for their support of electric cooperatives statewide. They will be presented with their awards at the association’s Summer Conference in July.

In other recognition, Brian Lacy from Cullman Electric Cooperative received the 2015 Darryl Gates Communicator of the Year award, named for AREA’s longtime vice president of communications who passed away in 2012.

The Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives is a federation of not-for-profit electric cooperatives, which provide dependable electricity to more than 1 million Alabamians in 64 counties.


Below you will find links to presentations shown at the Annual Meeting. 

Alabama Securities Commission – Ed Reed, Alabama Securities Commission

AREA Self-insured Pools – Karl Rayborn, AREA

USDA – Ronnie Davis, USDA Rural Development

Challenges for Public Health in Alabama – Dr. Jim McVay

Social Security – Kylle McKinney

Memorial Program Slides 2015

Safety and Loss Control Update – Michael Kelley and Kurvin Qualles